8 Famous Classical Dance form of India

July 28, 2020 By Poonam Kushwaha

Sources differ in their list of Indian Classical Dance forms.

Encyclopædia Britannica mentions six dances. The Sangeet Natak Akademi has given recognition to nine Indian dances. The Indian government’s Ministry of Culture includes eleven dance forms. Scholars such as Drid Williams and others include Chhau, Yaksagana and Bhagavata Mela to the eight classical Indian dances in the Sangeet Natak Akademi list.

The Natya Shastra mentions four Pravrittis (traditions, genres) of ancient dance-drama in vogue when it was composed – Avanti (Ujjain, central), Dakshinatya (south), Panchali (north, west) and Odra-Magadhi (east).

The classical dance forms recognized by the Sangeet Natak Akademi and the Ministry of Culture are:

  1. Bharatanatyam, from Tamil Nadu
  2. Kathak, from Uttar Pradesh
  3. Kathakali, from Kerala
  4. Kuchipudi, from Andhra Pradesh
  5. Odissi, from Odisha
  6. Sattriya, from Assam
  7. Manipuri, from Manipur
  8. Mohiniyattam, from Kerala
Classical Dance

Also Read: https://goforviral.com/7-wonders-of-the-world-ancient-history/https://goforviral.com/7-wonders-of-the-world-ancient-history/