Importance of Indian Flag Tricolour and Chakra.

July 22, 2020 By Poonam Kushwaha

Indian Flag

Each colour represents something different:

Colours Significances

Saffron stands for courage and sacrifice

White represents peace, unity and truth.

Green stands for faith, fertility and auspiciousness of the land..

Dharma Chakra: In the center of the white band is a blue wheel with 24 spokes. This is the Dharma Chakra or “Wheel of Law”, the wheel of law in the Sarnath Lion Capital. The Chakra represents the continuing progress of the nation and the importance of justice in life.

The blue symbolizes the sky and the ocean.

The national flag was adopted in its present form during the meeting of Constituent Assembly held on the 22 July 1947, before 23 days of India’s Independence on August 15, 1947.

The national flag is popularly known as Tiranga, which means “three colours” or “tricoloured”. It is a horizontal tricolour in equal proportion of deep saffron at the top, white in the middle and green at the bottom. The ratio of the width to the length of the flag is 2:3. At the centre of the white band is a wheel with 24 spokes in navy blue colour that indicates the Dharma Chakra (Wheel of Law).

By law, the flag is to be made of khadi, a special type of hand-spun cloth or silk, made popular by Mahatma Gandhi. The manufacturing process and specifications for the flag are laid out by the Bureau of Indian Standards. The right to manufacture the flag is held by the Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, who allocates it to regional groups. As of 2009, the Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha has been the sole manufacturer of the flag.

Indian Flag Tricolour and Chakra


The flag should be flown at half-mast as a sign of mourning. The decision to do so lies with the President of India, who also decides the period of such mourning. When the flag is to be flown at half mast, it must first be raised to the top of the mast and then slowly lowered. Only the Indian flag is flown half mast; all other flags remain at normal height.

The flag is flown half-mast nationwide on the death of the president, vice-president or prime minister. It is flown half-mast in New Delhi and the state of origin for the Speaker of the Lok Sabha, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and Union Ministers. On deaths of Governors, Lt. Governors and Chief Ministers, the flag is flown at half-mast in the respective states and union territories.

The Indian flag cannot be flown at half-mast on Republic Day (26 January), Independence day (15 August), Gandhi Jayanti (2 October), or state formation anniversaries, except over buildings housing the body of the deceased dignitary. However, even in such cases, the flag must be raised to full-mast when the body is moved from the building.

Proud to be an Indian

Also read: