Keibul Lamjao National Park.

January 5, 2021 By Swapnil Suryawanshi

The Keibul Lamjao National Park (Kei – Tiger, Bul – vast, Lamjao-Large Land) is a national park in the Bishnupur district of the state of Manipur in India. It is 40 km2 (15.4 sq mi) in area, the only floating park in the world, located in North East India, and an integral part of Loktak Lake.

The national park is characterized by many floating decomposed plant materials locally called phumdis. To preserve the natural refuge of the endangered Manipur Eld’s deer or brow-antlered deer (Cervus eldi eldi), or sangai also called the dancing deer, listed as an endangered species by IUCN, the park which was initially declared to be a sanctuary in 1966, was subsequently declared to be a national park in 1977 through a gazette notification. The act has generated local support and public awareness.


Geography and topography :

The park is a swamp with floating mass of vegetation created by accrual of organic garbage and biomass with soil particles that has been thickened into a solid form called phumdis, at the south–eastern side of the Loktak Lake, which has been declared a Ramsar site. Two thirds to three fourths of the total park area is formed by phumdis.

Films :

  • The Return of Sangai (Manipuri: Sangai Hallakpa) is a documentary about Keibul Lamjao National Park and Sangai made by forest department Manipur. The film is available in both English and Manipuri.

Conservation measures suggested relate to development and implementation of a management plan giving priority to long term conservation, monitoring the condition of habitat and to take timely corrective measures by enforcing strict protection of core areas, particularly with reference to the water level due to the Loktak Hydro Electric Power Project.

Flora and fauna :

Brow-antlered deer or sangai or the dancing deer (Cervus eldi eldi)

The park, primarily composed of moist semi–evergreen forests, has a rich amalgam of aquaticwetland and terrestrial ecosystem. The grass land structure of the park is divided into three zones.