Shimla .

January 4, 2021 By Swapnil Suryawanshi

Shimla is also known as Simla, is the capital and the largest city of the Indian state of Himachal Pradesh. In 1864, Shimla was declared as the summer capital of British India. After independence, the city became the capital of Punjab and was later made the capital of Himachal Pradesh. It is the principal commercial, cultural and educational centre of the state. It was the capital city in exile of British Burma (present-day Myanmar) from 1942 to 1945.

History :

Most of the area occupied by present-day Shimla city was dense forest during the 18th century. The only civilisation was the Jakhoo temple and a few scattered houses.The area was called ‘Shimla’, named after a Hindu goddessShyamala Devi, an incarnation of Kali.

The bridge connecting Shimla with Chhota Shimla, originally erected in 1829 by Stapleton Cotton, Shimla, 1850s

The city has 13 anganwadis and 64 primary schools.[28] There are many schools from the British era. Some of the popular convent schools in the city are Bishop Cotton SchoolSt. Edward’s SchoolAuckland House SchoolLoreto Convent, Tara Hall, Other public schools include DAV Public School New ShimlaShimla Public SchoolHimalayan International School and Chapslee Garden SchoolBishop Cotton School and St. Edward’s School, Shimla are for boys only, whereas, Loreto Convent, Tara Hall is for girls only.

Civic administration :

Town Hall as seen from The Ridge

The administrative responsibilities of the city of Shimla and merged areas of Dhalli, Totu, and New Shimla reside with the Shimla Municipal Corporation (SMC). All three areas were taken under SMC in 2006–07. Established in 1851, the Shimla Municipal Corporation is an elected body comprising 34 councillors, three of whom are nominated by the government of Himachal Pradesh. The nominations are based on prominence in the fields of social service, academics, and other activities. Thirty-three percent of the seats are reserved for women. The elections take place every five years and the mayor and deputy mayor are elected by and amongst the councillors themselves.

External links :